

PRESS RELEASE

The Shield of Athena Family Services

receives the

"Prix Plaidoyer- Victimes"

Montreal November 2, 2009- The **Shield of Athena**, received the very prestigious **Prix Plaidoyer- Victimes** on Thursday October 29, 2009. Over 100 people were present at the Grand Plaza Hotel in Down Town Montreal, to also celebrate the 25 year anniversary of Plaidoyer Victimes, an association whose mission is to promote and defend the rights and interests of victims of criminal acts.

The prize which was created in 1993 commemorates the work of an organization or person that helps recognize and reinforce the rights of victims of criminal acts. The award also honours their efforts in personalizing and humanizing the intervention with victims and their efforts to better understand victim's needs.

This years jury members included : President of jury, **The Honourable François Doyon**, Court of Appeal judge, **Mr. Brian Myles**, journalist, **Mr. Jean St-Onge**, president of Fondation Marie-Vincent, **Ms. Deborah Trent**, director, Montreal Sexual Assault Center and **Ms. Johanne Vallée**, The Regional Deputy Commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada.

Founded in 1991, the Shield of Athena Family Services is a non-profit community organization with an extensive network of services that includes: centers in Montreal and Laval, a multilingual shelter for women victims of violence and their children, and a multilingual public awareness and community outreach campaign.

-30-

For more information call Melpa Kamateros at (514) 274-8117



From left to right: Mrs. **Melpa Kamateros**, Executive director of the shield of Athena; Mrs. **Marie-Hélène Blanc**, Director of the Association québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes and **Pearl Eliadis LL.B.**, President of the Shield of Athena.



From left to right: Mrs. **Marie-Hélène Blanc**, Director of the Association québécoise Plaidoyer-Victimes; Mrs. **Melpa Kamateros**, Executive director of the Shield of Athena; **Pearl Eliadis LL.B.**, President of the Shield of Athena, as well as the two other recipients for the prize.